24 July 2006

Free visa for short visits

source: Permia-NZ


1. The Government of the Republic of Indonesia has implemented a new regulation on free visas for short visits. The new regulation is in accordance with Presidential Decree No. 18/2003 and Presidential Decree No. 103/2003. The new regulation came into force as of 1 February 2004 and replace the old free visa for short visit regulation that applies to 48 countries.

2. Under the new regulation, a visa is not required for those wishing to make a short visit for the purpose of tourism (holiday), social and cultural visits and official government business.

3. The free visas for short visits are granted only for citizens from the following countries:
Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei Darussalam, Philippines, Hong Kong Special Administration (Hong Kong SAR), Macao Special Administration (Macao SAR), Chile, Morocco, Peru and Vietnam.

4. The maximum length of stay for the free visa for a short visit is thirty days and it cannot be extended unless requested under special circumstances such as illness, natural disasters, etc. The extension of free visas for short visits can be granted based on an approval from the Indonesian Minister of Justice and Human Rights. This type of visa cannot be transferred or converted to any other kind of visa.

5. Entry and departure can be made through all Indonesian immigration checkpoints (airports, seaports and land-borders) as follows:


a. Eltari in Kupang (Timor)
b. Hangnadim in Batam (Batam Island)
c. Husein Sastranegara in Bandung (West Java)
d. Ngurah Rai in Denpasar (Island of Bali)
e. Polonia in Medan (North Sumatra)
f. Selaparang in Mataram (Lombok Island)
g. Simpang Tiga in Pekanbaru (Riau)
h. Supadio in Pontianak (West Kalimantan)
i. Adi Sumarno in Solo (Central Java)
j. Hasanuddin in Ujung Pandang (South Sulawesi)
k. Adi Juanda in Surabaya (East Java)
l. Sam Ratulangi in Manado (North Sulawesi)
m. Sepinggan in Balikpapan (East Kalimantan)
n. Soekarno Hatta in Jakarta (Capital of Indonesia)
o. Tabing in Padang (West Sumatera)


a. Bandar Seri Udana-Loban (Tanjung Uban)
b. Belawan in Medan (North Sumatra)
c. Bitung (Bitung)
d. Lembar in Mataram (Lombok Island)
e. Nongsa Terminal Bahari (Batam Island)
f. Sekupang in Batam (Batam Island)
g. Sri Bayintan (Tanjung Pinang)
h. Tanjung Balai Karimun (Tanjung Balai Karimun)
i. Tanjung Perak in Surabaya (East Java)
j. Tanjung Priok in Jakarta (Capital of Indonesia)
k. Bandar Bentan Telani (Lagoi)
l. Batu Ampar in Batam (Batam Island)
m. Benoa in Bali (Island of Bali)
n. Dumai (Dumai)
o. Lhok Seumawe (Aceh)
p. Marina Teluk Senimba (Batam Island)
q. Padang Bai in Bali (Island of Bali)
r. Selat Kijang (Tanjung Pinang)
s. Tanjung Mas in Semarang (Central Java)
t. Tanjung Pinang (Tanjung Pinang)
u. Tenau in Kupang (Timor)


a. Entikong (West Kalimantan)


1. A valid passport for 6 months from the date of entry.

2. Onward or return tickets are compulsory.

3. Proof of sufficient funds must be shown when asked by officials.

For futher infomation please contact:
70 Glen Road
Ph. (04) 4758 699
Fax. (04) 4759 374